compression and valve clearance

Norge

HI everyone this is my fist post ... I have a new to me 1980 3CL 1000 and from the get-go I had issues with it been very hard to start and not idling
My question is how much does out of spec shims play a roll in compression ? as all 3 cylinders are low
Compression
L / 115 psi
M / 50 psi
R / 90 psi

valve clearance in mm
L / In 0.09 / Ex 0.08
M / In 0.03 / Ex 0.19
R / In 0.03 / Ex 0.13

the right & middle inlet are tighter than 0.03 but that's as far as the feeler gauges goes

as you can see it looks very sad

I'm new to working on Laverda's and need all the help I can get to understand if this is a pulldown or do i do the shims to see if compression comes back into spec.

Last edited:

Vince

Where are you in Oz. What is important is what size shims you end up working with. If you end up with very thin shims fixing that gets interesting.

sfcpiet

Administrator
Staff member
0.002mm? Never seen a feeler guage that thin. Or are we talking inches??

Quite obviously at least 2 valves are not closing properly, no wonder the comp readings are low. Specs are 0.20-0.25 inlet, 0.25-0.30 exhaust.

Restore at least some valve clearance, run the engine for a while to let the valves settle in (remove carbon and/or rust from the seats) a bit and re-adjust to specified clearances, repeat comp test and see where you are. This, and the attained shim sizes, will give you a fair indication of the engines' overall condition.

Be prepared to find a tired old dog, it's all I find these days...

piet

Norge

0.002mm? Never seen a feeler guage that thin. Or are we talking inches??

Quite obviously at least 2 valves are not closing properly, no wonder the comp readings are low. Specs are 0.20-0.25 inlet, 0.25-0.30 exhaust.